The School Board provides leadership and strategic direction in the area of policies and procedures that support the educational programs of the Bainbridge Island School District.
    There are five School Board Director Districts on Bainbridge Island and the Board Directors are elected from those areas.                                                                 

    Current School Board Directors

    Mark Emerson
    Board President
    Mark D. Emerson  
    Term: Through November 2025
    • Board Director District 5
    • Appointed May 2019; Elected November 2019; Re-elected November 2021
    • Treasurer, Scout Troops 1564 & 1804, Bainbridge Island
    • Treasurer, Bainbridge Island Sportsmen's Club
    • Former Board member of United Way of Kitsap County
    • Owner, Focus on Work, LLC, an accounting/financial consultancy
    • Has three children who are all BISD graduates

    Sanjay Pal  
    Board Vice President
    Sanjay Pal
    Term: Through November 2023

    • Board Director District 3
    • Elected November 2019
    • Has two children enrolled in BISD schools
    Robert Cromwell
    Board Director  
    Robert Cromwell 
    Term: Through November 2025     
    • Board Director District 2
    • Appointed April 2021; Elected November 2021
    • Works for Seattle City Light where he is responsible for energy efficiency and related programs.
    • Served on the Washington State Ferry Advisory Committee
    • Has one child who is a BISD graduate 

    Lynn Smith
    oard Director
    Lynn Smith   
    Term: Through November 2023      


    • Board Director District 1
    • Elected in November 2015; Re-elected in November 2019
    • Volunteers in classroom and PTO; former PTOCC president
    • Has two children who are both BISD graduates