The School Board provides leadership and strategic direction in the area of policies and procedures that support the educational programs of the Bainbridge Island School District.
    There are five School Board Director Districts on Bainbridge Island and the Board Directors are elected from those areas.                                                                 
     Current School Board Directors  


    Board President 
    Lynn Smith   
    Term: Through November 2023      
      • Board Director District 1
      • Elected in November 2015; Re-elected in November 2019
      • Volunteers in classroom and PTO; former PTOCC president
      • Has two children--one BISD graduate and one currently attending BISD 


    Christina Hulet
    Board Vice President 
    Christina Hulet
    Term: Through November 2023  
    • Board Director District 4
    • Appointed November 2018; Elected November 2019
    • Principal of a collective action firm that convenes government agencies, non-profits and foundations to improve results in health care, equity, youth mental health and other community priorities
    • Former Executive Health Policy Advisor to Washington State Governor Chris Gregoire
    • Has two children enrolled in BISD schools

    Robert Cromwell
    Board Director  
    Robert Cromwell 
    Term: Through November 2021     

      • Board Director District 2
      • Appointed April 2021
      • Works for Seattle City Light where he is responsible for energy efficiency and related programs.
      • Served on the Washington State Ferry Advisory Committee
      • Has one child currently attending BISD 
    Mark Emerson
    Board Director
    Mark D. Emerson  
    Term: Through November 2021
    • Board Director District 5
    • Appointed May 2019; Elected November 2019
    • Treasurer, Scout Troops 1564 & 1804, Bainbridge Island
    • Treasurer, Bainbridge Island Sportsmen's Club
    • Former Board member of United Way of Kitsap County 
    • Owner, Focus on Work, LLC, an accounting/financial consultancy
    • Has three children--two BISD graduates and one currently attending BISD 

     Sanjay Pal
    Board Director
    Sanjay Pal
    Term: Through November 2023

    • Board Director District 3
    • Elected November 2019
    • Has two children enrolled in BISD schools