• English Language Learners (ELL)

    Special language instruction is available to K-12 students for whom English is not their native language. School administrators and counselors alert the English Language Learners (ELL) teacher when a potential ELL student registers for school. The ELL teacher will administer the English Language Proficiency Assessment screener to determine a student's eligibility. For those students who are eligible, the ELL teacher will set up a schedule to work with them and consult with their teachers.

    Eligibility

    Determined by English Language Proficiency Assessment for the 21st Century (ELPA21).
     
    BISD School Board Policy #2110 and Procedure #P2110 outline the district's policy on Transitional Bilingual Instruction.
     
    ELL Teachers:
    Ordway Elementary: Erin Grahm, egrahm@bisd303.org, Susan Morris. smorris@bisd303.org
    Blakely Elementary: Kathleen Pool, kpool@bisd303.org
    Wilkes Elementary: Susan Morris. smorris@bisd303.org
    Sakai Intermediate School: Kim Kooistra, kkooistra@bisd303.org
    Woodward Middle School: Julee Longridge, jlongridge@bisd303.org
    Bainbridge High School: Olivia Holden, oholden@bisd303.org
    Commodore Options School: 
     
    Contact:
    Sheryl Belt, Associate Superintendent of Curriculum & Instruction
    206-780-1067