• 2020 Winter One Acts – Information Sheet - 11/08/19 Update

    Important Dates to Remember:

    Performances –  Friday, Jan. 31 at 7:30 pm & Sat., Feb. 1 at 3:00 p.m. AND
            Friday, Feb. 7 at 7:30 pm & Sat., Feb. 8 at 3:00 pm 

    NOVEMBER DATES:

    Friday, November 8 -  First informational meeting, open to all. Criteria covered for Scripts, Production Manager, Director & Entre-Act Applications. Forms posted in BHS Theater Club site. Go to: BHS Home, Activities, BHS Theater Club, Google Classroom (q6560vn class code - see BHS theater web page)

    Wednesday, November 13. Playwriting workshop – Portable A - 3:20 – 4:30 p.m. Led by Ms. Hume.

    Monday, November 18, 4:00 pm. Scripts, Production Manager and Director applications are due to Hume via email (Forms posted in BHS Theater Club site.)

    Email completed applications to Ms. Hume: bhume@bisd303.org. Subject line: WOA Submission for (Specify Application Role) Example: “for Director Application.”

    For script submissions, write your name, year and title of your one-act in the body of the email. Attach the script but make sure your name is not anywhere on the manuscript!

    Monday,  November 25.  6-8 Readers (3-4 staff, 3-4 students) select the plays, match each show to one or two directors, determine a theme, and create a program order (subject to changes).  Program order will be posted on the BHS Theater classroom site by Wednesday, November 27. 

    Monday, December 2.  Meeting with Playwrights and Directors with Ms. Hume in Portable A at 3:20 p.m.  Mandatory! Workshop on “How To Communicate Script Changes Between Playwright & Director.”  NOTE:  Any rewrites should take place by Directors and Playwrights working together to come to a final script prior to Winter Break!

    DECEMBER 2019 - JANUARY 2020 DATES:

    Wednesday, December 4 & Thursday, December 5.  Auditions for One Acts.   Students sign up for auditions in Library. Auditions are conducted by Directors after school each day from 3:20 pm – 4:45 pm. in Room 221.   Results are posted by Friday, December 6 on the BHS Theater Club Site in google classroom.

    DECEMBER - JANUARY DATES:
    Monday, December 9 – Friday, January 10, 2020.  Directors give out their scripts and complete casting and read through of script.  Directors schedule their rehearsals from December 9, 2019 - January 10, 2020  with their actors, and email the tech coordinators with the tech requirement for their One Act.  Directors/actors rehearse, refining the performance on their own using off-campus rehearsal space. Work actors “off – book” by Monday, Jan. 13, 2020.

    Monday, January 13 - Thursday, January 17 - Auditions for the Entr’Acts.  See D Arcy Clements for questions.  Entr’Act Audition Application posted on Winter One Act Classroom site.

    Monday, January 13 - WOA Poster is due!  Submit entry to Production Manager.

    Monday, January 13 - Thursday, January 23.  Each play schedules one hour in Portable A (Hume’s Room Wed./Friday) OR Room 221 (Clement’s Room Tues./Thurs)  with the production manager’s master schedule. Student directors give notes. Begin Monday check-in with Ms Hume, Production Manager, Lead Techie, Directors plus one representative from each cast.  Playwrights are also welcome to attend any rehearsal and any of these “check-in” meetings to voice their feedback on their script as the rehearsal process progresses.

    Tech Week: Friday, January 24 - Thursday,  January 30. Whole show rehearses with tech every afternoon except Wednesday 1/29 from 3:30 pm - 7 p.m. after school at Woodward Middle School Auditorium. (Includes Entr’Act Performers)

    Note: Directors will decide if Thursday, 1/30 should be a preview based on “performance” level of scenes at the time.

    PERFORMANCES:

    Performances: Friday, Jan. 31 at 7:30 p.m. & Saturday, February 1 at 3:00 p.m.   Call for cast and tech at 6:30 p.m on Friday & 2 p.m. on Saturday at Woodward Middle School Auditorium. 

    Thursday, February 6. Pick up rehearsal at Woodward Middle School Auditorium at 3:30 p.m.  All Cast & Crew are called.

    Performances: Friday, February 7 at 7:30 p.m. & Saturday, February 8 at 3:00 p.m.  Call for cast and tech at  6:30 p.m. on Friday & 2 p.m. on Saturday at Woodward Middle School Auditorium.